Long Island Iced Teas, Friendship and Carl Jung, with golf thrown in

We all have friends from our younger days who have played a role in who we are today. Shared experiences, shared values, thoughts, ideas, passions, dreams. Hopefully, the friends who had the biggest impact are still in your life in some way.

I’m writing tonight because my friend Andy texted me earlier just asking “how are you?” He mentioned the new Bob Mould album, quick comment about his kids. And for some reason he made me think back to when we first met, 2am at a PSU fraternity party with Andy’s combat boot basically in my face. There was beer and loud live music involved….in a good way.

Why I digress is that in the few moments of several texts, my mind did a quick 25 year review of my friendship with Andy and snippets of memories flooded in. Amazing what the brain can process in about 2 minutes. And compelled me to try to capture the essence of friendship, golf, drunkenness and Carl Jung, all in one short blog post. Uh, bear with me, ok? There is a point to this.

We used to spend hours sitting outside at Cafe 210 West in State College, people watching, drinking Long Island Iced Teas for $1 per shaker, reading Nietzsche and Sartre and Bukowski, challenging each other to solve the philosophical problems of the world. And creating music. And cementing a friendship that to this day runs deep, even though we seldom see each other. We still love music, we still love golf and we still, at times, wax away at the world. To me, that’s tremendously cool.

So to you Andy, I offer up some Jung quotes that resonate with me. And I find they work well in the context of not only our shared experiences, but also golf. There you have it. I’ve managed to kind of sort of get out a few late evening ideas on what a long friendship can cause the brain to reflect on in just a brief moment in time. Thank you, friend.

“Knowledge rests not upon truth alone, but upon error also.” This speaks to teaching and learning, to creativity and touch in the short game, to finding those really neat chord changes and lyrics to this day I don’t understand, but happy to have been a part of.

“It all depends on how we look at things, and not how they are in themselves.” See comment on Cafe 210 West. Also, how many great recovery shots have you played where there seemed to be no “safe” out, but you hit it anyway. And succeeded, because you created a window in your mind to pull it off. Golf is brilliant that way.

“All the works of man have their origin in creative fantasy. What right have we then to depreciate imagination.” I truly loved what you, me, Chris and Steve created long ago. And I try to maintain that imagination and creativity. It just seems more difficult now, but not impossible.

“Without this playing with fantasy no creative work has ever yet come to birth. The debt we owe to the play of the imagination is incalculable.”
See above. Also….this so applies to the short game.

Leave a Reply

