1st Time Pizza Post

A little bit of trepidation as I worked to pizza dough out of the bowl onto my lightly flowered work surface. “First time for everything”, I was telling myself. My first dough making experience had me concerned! It sure looked like the dough had risen and looked pretty normal. Now, how do I toss it up in the air and make my pie, just like Joe and Vince do at my local pizza joint, Lisa’s?

Turns out the entire pizza recipe was really pretty easy and tasted delicious. The dough? Edges were crispy and had good flavor. The only negative was the bottom was just a touch undercooked, even after twice returning the pizza to the oven. Originally had baked it on 500 degrees for 10 minutes. After I figure out my oven more, I should be able to dial it in.

The recipe? I put the dough together with suggestions from a couple different recipes. Basically, flour, olive oil, salt, yeast. I think I’ll make bread at some point. Did work it at first, let it rest for 5 minutes, worked it twice more….then put it in the fridge for a while. I took it out 2 hours before I was making the pizza to get it to room temperature and rise some more. I enjoyed the dough process.

For the BBQ Chicken topping, I followed Gringo Picante’s recipe, but added a can of El Morena Chipotle Peppers. H’s a good thick sauce from the can and a really deep smoky flavor. I’ll use them again. The heat from the Siracha sauce and the peppers made for a “slow burn” that was quite pleasant.

The BBQ Chicken idea came from the link below. Thank you!

Gringo Picante blog:

20121201-072745.jpg

20121201-072822.jpg

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

