Slide away from golf today….hello scallops!

I’m continuing on my cooking journey and went back to one of my favorite foods, but with a little twist: The Spicy Scallop.

Very simple to prepare and I think pretty healthy. I pan seared the scallops in just a touch of canola oil, then made a quick sauce. Plated it up with asparagus I baked in the oven with olive oil and sea salt/pepper (400 degrees for 10 min).

Sauce: Soy, rice wine vinegar, leeks, a little garlic, red pepper flakes and a touch of corn starch.

Scallops: Sear on each side for a few minutes to a nice golden color. My sea scallops took about 3-4 minutes each side.

I moved scallops out of pan and poured sauce in. Took 45 seconds or so for the sauce to reduce and thicken. I think I kept the sauce on jst a few seconds too long….got syrupy on me.

Anyone have suggestions on how I could have presented the meal better on the plate? Looks empty! But in the end, the dish had a great flavor, a nice buildup of heat and only took 20 minutes.

20121206-120004.jpg

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Rick

    That looks delicious! Thanks for sharing the recipe!

    The Grateful Golfer

    1. Thanks Grateful! By the way, where do you play your golf? Cld in PA

    2. Sorry…cold in PA, but may be playable this weekend.

Leave a Reply

