Cod & Chorizo with White Beans anyone?

I’m not sure how many new recipes I’ve cooked over the past couple of months. I’m sort of searching for a few “go to” dinners. For now, I’m having fun exploring and learning to cook…..better, I guess.

Tonight was a cod and chorizo sausage bake with white beans. Very simple, tasted great, but seemed to be missing something. Not sure what. Here was the run down:

1 lb cod fillet
3 chorizo sausage links, chopped up
Diced shallot
Fresh thyme
Dice tomatoes
White wine
Salt/pepper to taste

Sautéed the sausage with the shallots and thyme for a few minutes, then added tomatoes and wine. Let that cook down for a few minutes, then add the white beans. Another few minutes and that’s done.

I used a deep baking dish for the fish. Put the fish in first, top with the chorizo/bean topping as best you can, then fill in the open spec with the liquid. Cover and bake on 425 for about 15-20 minutes.

Before and after pictures below. If anyone has some staging/plating ideas for this dish, let me know. I typically don’t garnish….wasteful for me. But I also know I could “dress up” the presentation more.

Overall, a pretty tasty, healthy meal.

20121210-195821.jpg

20121210-201735.jpg

Leave a Reply

