Can you change your own mind? Pasta!

I’m not a huge pasta fan. I don’t know if it just fills me up and makes me lazy, or what, but I’ve just never eaten a lot of pasta. Until last night. I may have changed my own mind. Plus, I love cheese….

A cold December day seemed like a good time to try a baked pasta dish. Dark by 4:30, the golf course closed…..a hearty (and healthy) meal is a good idea, right?

I got some tortellini filled with chicken & prosciutto and fontina cheese for the two main ingredients. I also figured out that FRESH herbs are the way I need to go if I’m going to continue cooking. Thyme, rosemary, basil, cilantro, oregano and parsley are must haves for me. Time to start an herb garden I side when I find time….

Here we go:

Extra-virgin olive oil in a deep pan and after its heated a bit, add 2 TBL of floured whisk for a minute or so.
Add 2 1/2 cups of warm skim milk and whisk until it begins to thicken
Add 1/4 cup of grated fontina cheese and whisk until blended
During this process, add a 1/2 TSP nutmeg, salt and pepper to taste
The aroma in my kitchen at this point was very god…..

Cook the pasta per directions on your package. After draining, add the sauce to the pasta in a large baking dish. Use 2 TBL of bread crumbs and a handful of shredded parm (mixed) and sprinkle on top of pasta. Into a 425 degree over for 20-25 min or until golden brown and bubbly on top.

I enjoyed this a good deal. The fontina and nutmeg had a very nice balance. Served with little garlic toasts and green beans with mushrooms and a little red onion.

If there’s no golf to be had, might as well play in the kitchen, you know?

20121212-063928.jpg

20121212-063942.jpg

Leave a Reply

