The World Did Not End, so I Made Green Chile Rellenos

It’s December 21 and as far as I can tell the world is still here. Other than a deluge outside that has produced 2″ inches of rain overnight and spawned flood warnings in my area, all seems to be in order.

The weather has been very unfriendly towards golf, which has forced me back to the kitchen. I whipped this up the other night, with an added ingredient: Chorizo sausage. I had some left over…

Very simple, warm and tasty, plus the prep time was negligible.

I started with oven safe bowls, then layered chorizo, sliced onions, corn, green chilies, a little shredded cheddar cheese and topped it off with a wash of 6 egg whites, 4 egg yolks and 1 1/2 cups of skim milk (whisked). Put them in the oven for 25 minutes at 400 degrees and viola….this is what came out!

This dish made an excellent breakfast burrito, too.

If the weather cooperates, I’d like to do a video bunker play demonstration, but we’ll need to see if/when things dry out.

20121221-065627.jpg

20121221-065641.jpg

20121221-065654.jpg

20121221-065708.jpg

Leave a Reply

