First Try at a Tempura Sushi

What better thing to do on a cold, blustery winter storm day than to make shrimp tempura for the very first time? Oh, and then make it into a not well thought out sushi roll?

The new wok actually holds the oil (canola) at 350 degrees fairly well. I’m now convinced great tempura comes from the batter. Alas, I don’t think my batter was that great. But, it was crunchy/crispy and the shrimp tasted good, so I’m not complaining.

The sushi roll consisted of the shrimp along with cucumber, jalapeño, red bell pepper and Siracha sauce.

This was a practice session for New Years Eve. Sushi bar in my kitchen. I now know no tempura concoctions will be going on. But I do see a lobster roll of some sort…..

20121230-060054.jpg

20121230-060106.jpg

Leave a Reply

