Transitions

Transition is defined as the “movement, passage, or change from one position, state, stage, subject, concept, etc., to another; change: the transition from adolescence to adulthood”. I’m going to stick with this one right now. We could also discuss transition in music or theatre, as well. But let’s stick with life for a moment.

I absolutely love Dr. Dan Gottlieb. He has a radio show on WHYY I highly recommend and he replayed a broadcast from January 2012 yesterday I was fortunate to catch. Dr. Gottleib and his guests were discussing the importance of, and the use of “narratives” in terms of identity and well-being. And it got me thinking about how I deal (and have dealt) with transitions and what my story is. How has my identity been shaped and how have I created my story in light of my past, present and future self? It’s a hell of an interesting track of thought for the first day of 2013 and I’m going to let my mind go a bit here. Stay with me, I’ll bring it full circle at some point. 🙂

Dr. Gottlieb’s guests on this show included Dr. Jonathon Adler and Nancy Schlossberg

I’m not a big resolution guy. I tend to look at January 1st as yet another day, things to be done. But I will reflect for a bit on what I learned over the past 365 days. I’ve found that finding cool quotes that resonate in my brain for some reason beings me comfort. I’m not sure why, but words have meaning for each of us, in different ways. Perhaps it’s my general sense of curiosity and interest for when I read something and my brain says, “Hey, wait a sec. That was cool, go back”.

Like this: “There is a contradiction in wanting to be perfectly secure in a universe whose very nature is momentariness and fluidity” -Alan Watts

I’ve always feared “change” to an extent, preferring stability over new experience or a perceived risk. Or, if I knew change was around the corner, I’d hide from it in various ways. But that attitude has been slowly changing (at times, glacial like). I’m beginning to understand that for me, “living” isn’t security and stability in and of itself. It’s a combination of everything. A cornucopia of good, bad, indifferent, splendid, vile, blissfully transcendent occurrences we accept as our own.

“[Life] is a dance, and when you are dancing, you are not intent on getting somewhere. The meaning and purpose of dancing is the dance” – Alan Watts

I’m onto something in my thinking, and have felt it for several months and haven’t quite cracked it open, but it’s there, and it’s intriguing. So, I’m not rushing it. Allowing my mind to wander and dance on my own little river and take in the experiences is what I’m doing. Reading this out loud to myself, what I’m seeing too is that I probably don’t much want to make sense of anything just yet. And I’m ok with that.

Now for random Tuesday thoughts:

Best lyric of 2012 for me:
“I never thought that we would fall apart
But the weather came and withered up your heart”.
From Angels are Rearranging” by Bob Mould off Silver Age. Just love the way he sings it.

I still have not found the true voice of this blog. Originally, it was going to be ALL golf. But then I sort of discovered I really love to cook, and I enjoy hashing out thoughts in my head on different topics….and it just sort of turned out to be something very different. So I ask you, readers and followers of mindbodygolf, what would you enjoy seeing and reading in 2013 from me?

Saw “Silver Linings Playbook” on Sunday. I know I feel better about myself! And I know that Jennifer Lawrence is a really great actress in this flick. Yes, I recommend.

I didn’t buy much music in 2012, but did develop a fondness for “Call Me, Maybe”.

I thank all of you for your interest in my writing and pictures. It amazes me that all of us have such a reach cross the world to put ourselves out there, to be vulnerable, to share ideas or recipes, opinions and cultural identities. To put ourselves close to the edge of a cliff and risk being pushed or jumping ourselves, to take that leap of faith into our own little river, so we can dance and see where the ebb and flow takes us.

Full circle, pretty much. That’s my narrative, written fairly quickly. Ever evolving.

Let’s be kind, caring, curious and interested towards each other. Let’s be loving and peaceful and considerate. If nothing else, I’m sappy, idealistic and cynically pragmatic. Time to see what the day will bring.

Happy New Year, everyone. Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

