Golf workout, core stability, take 2…..

20130117-135622.jpg

How many times have you said to yourself, “I want to hit the ball straighter and longer”? One thing I’m trying to do this off season is get myself into MUCH better shape. What I’m hoping to get from the effort is stability in my swing. If I can achieve better balance and stability at address and during the swing, I WILL hit the ball longer and will hit it straighter…

If you’re working out, awesome. Perhaps you should see if you want to include this wonderful Physio ball exercise. I’m amazed at how difficult some of these are for me. Happy stability training, golf nuts.

Me in a push-up position and feet on Physio ball

2 Comments

  1. I’d love to get back to golf but that became my biggest problem: getting off the tee consistently and without putting myself in worse shape then when I was on the tee! Maybe this year :)…

    1. Well, that can always be an issue. Questions for you: Do you always use a driver off the tee on a par 4 or par 5? If so, what degree is the driver? The reason I ask is that sometimes using a more lofted club on tee shots MAY help you hit better shots.

      The driver has the least amount of loft of your clubs, typically between 7-11 degrees. With less loft, less back spin is produced, and if the clubface is open or closed a little bit (talking 1-2 degrees), more side spin is produced. The driver is typically traveling fastest, too. Combine those things together and you can have a recipe for slices and hooks.

      Next time you go the driving range, see what happens when you hot a 15 degree of 20 degree metal (3 or a 5 wood I imagine).

      Just some thoughts. Probably could have been a post, huh?

Leave a Reply

