Cleaning Out My Closet, in Several Ways

20130204-094208.jpg

After a month of “transition” I can officially say my 5 1/2 years of being a sales rep in the dental industry has come to an end and I am seeking opportunities within the golf industry. Sometimes you have to get out of your comfort zone and take a leap….towards something you truly believe in and have passion for. My years in the golf industry brought me a ton of professional joy and that’s what I’m striving for. A personal calling? Perhaps. Something I was (and surmise I’m still) very good at doing. I’m proud to be a member of the PGA of America, and I’m about a month away from regaining “active” status. I’ve been working at playing catch up with the PGA for the last nine months, collecting continuing education credits and Member Service Requirements, reacquainting myself with contacts and the industry. I feel like my brain is turned on again.

The past seven years has provided a good education in the corporate side of business. What I’ve found is the “selling” process in the medical world is really no different than in the golf industry. Products and services are needed in every industry, it’s just the matter of how you position them. Can you, as the salesperson, establish a relationship with your customer that meets specific needs and produces positive, measurable results? Trust, likability, empathy and passion are several attributes necessary for success. I feel confident that I possess those qualities and have the results to back them up. Not to mention that as a golf professional, a big part of “the job” is to help people enjoy a game. How cool is that?

The golf industry is changing and I’m looking forward to being a big part of that change. Technology like Trackman for teaching, golf clubs, fitting, advanced computer systems and Social Media are all making the game we love a better place. Connected communities of players, sharing information, experiences and the love of the game. I can’t wait to get back to it.

So on February 4th, I dive head first into a career change. The home office shall be reorganized. And the little Marshall amp in the corner may come out and make some noise. Just…..because.

Happy Monday, all.

20130204-100852.jpg

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

