Sunday Night Chicken Stuffed w/Prosciutto & Provolone

Sometimes I laugh at myself for being fairly dense. I had this wonderful chicken dinner plotted out in my mind and I wanted the chicken breasts to be a little thinner than how they were packed. I wrap the breasts up in plastic wrap, get out the meat hammer and go to town. I got a little aggressive…..

20130220-160845.jpg

You can tell I got them pretty thin. So thin it turned out that actually wrapping them up and working with them proved to difficult! They came out ok, though. Fresh basil, prosciutto and sharp provolone for the chicken and a yummy mushroom sauce. I browned up the chicken in a pan for a few minutes, getting all sides browned up, then put them in a baking dish. Into a 400 degree oven for 8-10 minutes. While the chicken cooked, I got to work on the ‘shrooms:

20130220-161549.jpg

I thought I had WAY too many mushrooms but it turned out to be a perfect amount. Just a little butter, throw in the mushrooms for 5 minutes (stir from time to time), then 2 cups of chicken broth, several shakes of red wine vinegar and throw in fresh basil, parsley and thyme. The aroma was fabulous as it cooked down.

I baked a yellow and green zucchini to go with everything. Very simple dinner as it turned out with great flavor. I tend to only complicate things in my mind. Basically, it was just a good deal of chopping.

Here’s the end result:

20130220-162402.jpg

20130220-162438.jpg

Leave a Reply

