New Day, New MiniMed Revel Insulin Pump

In an hour or so, I’ll be hooking myself up to my new insulin pump. I have it unpacked, all preferences are set and it’s ready to pump away. What’s new with the Revel from MiniMed?

20130222-145806.jpg

Continuous Glucose Monitoring capability and wireless communication with a new glucose meter: Anytime I test my blood sugar, that reading links to the pump, which stores it and creates graphs, trends and sort of predicts potential highs/lows. Also has alarms for when that stuff happens.

The better I can control my blood sugars (in a “normal” range), the better off I’ll be.

There is also an additional sensor I will be attaching to my body (separate from the insulin infusion set) that reads blood glucose all the time and feeds that info to the insulin pump. Talk about great information to have for 3 straight days or however long I want to keep inserting TWO things into my body all the time.

I’m looking forward to testing it out. Nothing sucks more than a real high or low blood sugar in diabetes land. If they both can be avoided or at least better managed, that’s totally cool.

Any Type 1 diabetics out there?

5 Comments

  1. Hey, Rick. I don’t think I’ve ever acknowledged the fact that you said you have type I diabetes. I give you a lot of credit for discussing it on your blog because you might be able to help others who feel lost and unable to live a normal life, or, as in your case, an extraordinary life!

    I am not diabetic, but have other health issues. I have an neurotransmitter implanted in my backside due to nerve problems, and this summer I was fitted for hearing aids that I’ve known I’ve needed for a long time, but put off.. Both have changed my life for the better.

    The only thing that I have to learn to handle better is going through security at the airport (and other places with metal detectors). It seems that no matter how much I’ve prepared myself mentally ahead of time, I’ve cried through every pat-down, especially when I’ve been physically separated by the TSA from the security line I’ve been in with my husband, and/or family members. I haven’t had a pat-down in awhile, thankfully, because of the body scan machines.

    Thanks for your honesty and telling your story. You are truly inspirational.
    Thanks,
    Leslie

    1. Leslie, that’s the nicest comment I’ve ever received. Thank you. I know when I was younger I always tried to hide the fact I had diabetes, never wanted to feel or seem “different” to the other kids (kids can be tough!).

      I started to actually enjoy talking about diabetes when I became a golf pro and did junior clinics. I’d have my insulin pump clipped on my belt and kids would ask what it was. There was always at least one junior golfer who was diabetic and would speak up and say, “Wow, me too! That’s so cool”. So a dialogue would begin for a few moments and everyone learned something. And that’s what it’s all about.

    2. Oh, and I totally understand the TSA stuff. And I wish you well with your health issues. Sounds like you are taking control of them and that’s what matters.

      I’ve been taken out of line the last 3 flights I’ve taken for pat downs, explosive swabbing of my hands and basic interrogations. Not cool at all, but it’s all about how you handle that unique situation. We both know to expect it, so at least you can prepare a little, right?

Leave a Reply

