Garmin Approach G6

I am GPS-less….I think Jim’s post about getting a GPS unit for golf is worthwhile. Some day I’ll get one, I suppose.

The Grateful Golfer

Three weeks ago I went looking for a range finder.  Being in many groups where someone has this tool, I thought it would be something to investigate.  I looked at several types, but did not see their value.  I found them difficult to use.  So I went away still considering my next course of action.  Two weeks ago, I was playing with a friend who received a Garmin Approach G6 for his birthday.  It was his first time using this device, but we found it very valuable because it provided valuable yardages on a course we had not played in years (the Highview Golf Course).  Specifically, we found the distances to the hazards, middle of the fairway and the green extremely helpful.

Garmin Approach G6

Excited about this device, I went to the nearest Golf Town and bought one!  Since my impulsive purchase, I have improved my club selection and approach shots…

View original post 179 more words

4 Comments

  1. I love the Bushnell watch that gives you front back middle of the green. You can also find out how long you hit each shot. I also have a range finder for the occasion I need to know how far away a hazard or tree is. I do not personally like to know exactly how far it is to the pin. I am not that good. Just get me on the green. Then I never have to think about what club to hit, its the putter.

    1. That’s a fine point! For some reason, I just like knowing my paces are accurate. Then again, when there aren’t many sprinkler heads marked, it becomes an educated guess! The watch seems nice & simple

Leave a Reply

