Simple Dinner Before Thanksgiving Silliness

20131127-193835.jpg

Talapia seems to be a go-to fish, readily available, versatile and cost effective. But, I also get bored with it.

Tonight, I wanted to make a simple, warm dinner that bordered on healthy and was on the “light” side. I also wanted to experiment with a new vinagarette, so the opportunity was here. Spinach, red peppers and cucumbers rounded out the salad.

I also had a wasabi sauce that worked well with the lemon and the fish.

For the vinagarette:
3 to 1 ratio of olive oil to vinegar (red wine tonight). Season to your own taste
basil
thyme
garlic
Grated shallot
1/2 tsp mustard
1/2 tsp of honey
Kosher salt
Ground pepper

Panko Crumbs:
Cayenne pepper
Dash or so of paprika
Salt
Pepper

Preheat oven to 375. Dip talapia in milk first, then roll in panko crumbs, place talapia in baking dish and cook for 12-15 minutes.

Simple and good. I’m finding that I enjoy that type of cooking more than trying anything fancy. I’m thankful that I have the opportunity to cook meals. I hope all of you in the US enjoy Thanksgiving tomorrow.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Rick

    Looks yummy!

    Cheers
    Jim

    1. Good crunch with fish & the spinach salad could have been its own meal 🙂

Leave a Reply

