First Meal of 2014 for “Luck”

Image

I  wanted to kick off 2014 and try something with some sweet/hot tones, so I put together a sort of Thai inspired peanut/sesame slaw.  Peanut butter, fresh chopped peanuts, cilantro, mint, sesame oil, hot pepper flakes and a little cayenne….it’s been sitting for an hour and so far, tastes proper.  The aroma is fabulous.

I haven’t taken the time to Google, but I know pork, in some form, is considered to be a “good luck” meal to kick off the new year.  I’m not a huge fan of just the pork and sauerkraut, so I decided to make a pork tenderloin marinated in olive oil, basil and garlic and grill it.

Image

To go along with the pork, I gave a shot at grilling a head of romaine lettuce, drizzled with a little olive oil and dusted with salt and pepper.

Image

The finished plate turned out to be the grilled romaine heads drizzled with a French vinaigrette and pork tenderloin medallions on top of the Thai inspired slaw.

Image

The mint and cilantro combined with the cayenne was delicious.  The pork worked well with the slow heat of the salad, and the grilled flavor of the romaine with the fresh dressing was quite good.  Overall, a new bit of flavor experimenting to start the year.  A big thank you to the millions of recipes that float around the internet.  I enjoy the opportunity to mix, match, play with, modify and make all the good things that come to mind.  Like “Chopped”, I most of the time look for one ingredient, then make it up from there.  Tonight was successful.  I’ve had my failures of late (like the chicken dish with friends two weeks ago, sorry about that).

I wish all of you a great 2014.  Here’s to staying curious in our respective kitchens.

Leave a Reply

