Ocean Perch Fish Tacos with Adobe-Lime Aioli for Alex

This post goes out to my friend Alex in Cincinnati OH.  By the way, Alex is a fine musician and sound technologist, so look him up if you live in the music world or just dig music in general. Find him at Mind Ignition Channel and other social media channels.

Image

The fish taco’s were fairly easy, just time consuming with the prep. I’m sure other spice combos would work well. Use your imagination I….imagine.

Salsa:
– 3 “fresh” (I’m not a fan of grocery store firm tomatos, but what are you going to do in May in PA?), diced up with juice
– Juice of 2 or 3 limes
– Zest of a lime (to your personal taste, I’m a fan of zests)
– 1/2 diced red onion
– a bunch of cilantro
– 1 or 2 jalapenos (again, to your taste)
– Little salt/pepper to taste

Fish:
– I used ocean perch, which was quite delicate and fresh. Had never used it before. I’m tending towards “wild caught” vs. farm raised just due to my bad brain vision of what “farm raised” fish are like. I’m sure there are people out there who do that well, so if you know of any, let me know. I’d rather eat a fish I know was just swimming along and got snagged
– Marinated for a while in the following:
* 1/4 cup olive oil (or less)
* 2 tbls of white vinegar
* juice of 2 more limes
* more lime zest
* a few drizzles of honey
* garlic (your taste, I used 3 small’ish cloves
* a little cumin
* a little chili powder
* a little Old Bay
* a bit of hot sauce of choice
* salt/pepper to your liking

Adobe sauce:
– 1 small plain yogurt
– I strained a small can of chipotle peppers and got the adobe sauce that way. I’m sure there is a can of adobe sauce out there, but I couldn’t find it. I got little chunks of peppers, too. Rich, smokey hot flavor
– More lime juice, don’t run out of these little buggers
– More lime zest, too
– Dash or two of Old Bay
– Dash of cumin
– Dash of chili powder

I went with flour tortillas. Put them in foil, sprinkled a little water in there, and closed them up. Put them on the grill for the last 3 minutes or so while the fish was grilling.

The ocean perch took maybe 6 minutes. I have a killer grill pan that I get super hot before putting the food down. The honey in the marinade created a great little crunch on the bottom of the fish. Very soft and exploding with flavor.

Layer spinach on the bottom of the tortilla, put fish chunks down, top with a bit of salsa, the adobe sauce if that’s your thing and finish off with a sprinkle of fresh cilantro.  Enjoy!

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Rick

    My mouth is watering. The ocean perch looks awesome!

    Cheers
    Jim

    1. Have you ever had it? I’m certainly going to have it again in something. What’s the go-to fish up your way? Lake fish of some sort? I’m thinking trout, pike, walleye……or do you go for the river with salmon and more trout? So much selection I would think. Glad you liked the post.

      1. Walleye or Pickerel…yum yum. I also like Salmon, Cod, Halibut, etc. I never used to like fish much, but now I really do. I have never had ocean perch….have to put it on my list of things to eat.

        Cheers
        Jim

Leave a Reply

