Seared and Blackened Tuna and Salmon

The fish was excellent. The pomegranate/orange salsa was even better.

Standout shuffle track for prepping was Death Cab for Cutie’s “I Will Follow You into the Dark”, I encourage you to check this out. Beautiful song, beautiful playing.

I have a confession to make. I’ve posted images and written about making sushi at home for a while now. I think the dishes look pretty, but I really don’t like it.  However, the people I’ve rolled for seem to approve, and the food makes them happy, so who am I to complain, right?

The biggest challenge is the rice! I have  rice cooker, it doesn’t seem to work well. I rinse the sushi rice to where the water runs clear. I am diligent on my time-keeping, handle the rice gently, season appropriately…but I’m never satisfied.

My niece is home from college and she asked me to make dinner for her the other night. She’s a sweetheart, and brought me a sushi headband as a bit of a joke, but also (hopefully) a gift of thanks. See below.

Headband_Supreme Victory

I had some tuna and salmon left over, and last night I made the “feature” dish that I could eat every night. I threw together a blackening rub and seared the remaining fish. I think the best part was the salsa, laid out on fresh romaine. The mix of sweet/spice was solid. I will make again.

Blackened Tuna Plate

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Yes, please! Have a great holiday season, Rick.

    Cheers
    Josh

    1. You too, Josh. Always appreciate you stopping by 🙂

Leave a Reply

